<u>V. Diju named for Arjuna Award, No Khel</u> <u>Ratna this year</u>

PTI | Aug 12, 2014,

NEW DELHI: No sportsperson has been named for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna while 15, including Badminton Player V. Diju, were today recommended for the Arjuna Award this year.



The 12-Member Selection Committee, headed by legendary cricketer Kapil Dev, decided not to name any sportsperson out of the seven candidates for the Khel Ratna at a meeting here. This is the third time no sportsperson has been named for the Khel Ratna since the inception of the Country's highest Sporting Award in 1991.

Besides V Diju (Badminton), Ashwin and the other 14 recommended for the Arjuna Award were Akhilesh Varma (Archery), Tintu Luka (Athletics), H N Girisha (Paralympics), Geetu Ann Jose (Basketball), Jai Bhagwan (Boxing), Anirban Lahiri (Golf), Mamta Pujari (Kabaddi), Saji Thomas (Rowing), Heena Sidhu (Shooting), Anaka Alankamony (Squash), Tom Joseph (Volleyball), Renubala Chanu (Weightlifting) and Sunil Rana (Wrestling).

The Selection panel Members for the Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award included the likes of Anju Bobby George and Kunjarani Devi, both of the highest sporting honour themselves, two Mediapersons and three from the Government side, including Sports Authority of India Director General Jiji Thomson.
